29 Unix And Linux Certifications You Can Consider!

150x150The UNIX and Linux certifications are highly sought after by the employers today. So wondering which certification to choose? The leaders of the Linux and Unix world like the Red Hat and LPI, Oracle, Solaris, IBM, BSD have their own certifications for Linux professionals. Here’s a list of 29 most popular certifications from 6 super popular giants of the industry!

Red Hat

The Red Hat certifications are specially popular for its format. It has 6 Linux certifications based on Red Hat Enterprise Linux which are purely based on Lab. No tests and questions.

Below are the 6 certifications offered:

1. Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA)
2. Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) Red Hat
3. Certified Virtualization Administrator (RHCVA)
4. Red Hat Certified Datacenter Specialist (RHCDS)
5. Red Hat Certified Security Specialist (RHCSS)
6. Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA)


Unlike the Red hat certification, LPI is a neutral company providing you knowledge on standard Linux irrespective of the distro. The group has 4 certifications in its portfolio:

7. Linux Essentials
8. Junior Level Linux Certification (LPIC-1)
9. Advanced Level Linux Certification (LPIC-2) Senior Level Linux
10. Certification (LPIC-3)


One of the industry legends, Novell, provides 4 Linux certifications for administrators based on SUSE. Below are the certifications:

11. Novell Certified Linux Engineer
12. Certified Linux Administrator
13. Certified Linux Desktop Administrator
14. Novell Certified Linux Professional


Oracle not only has created a Linux distro based on Red Hat Enterprise Linux but is also providing Linux certifications. After the group acquired SUN with Solaris operating system, Oracle started Oracle Certified Associate, Professional and Master paths for the Solaris system. The group has 8 certifications on Linux and Solaris.

15. Oracle Solaris System Administrator (OCA)
16. Oracle Solaris System Administrator (OCP)
17. Oracle Solaris Network Administrator (OCE)
18. Oracle Solaris Security Administrator (OCE)
19. Oracle Solaris Cluster System Administrator (OCP)
20. Oracle Linux Administrator (OCA)
21. Oracle Linux Certified Implementation Specialist
22. Managing Oracle on Linux Certified Expert


While IBM has more than 200 certifications in their portfolio for associate level to advanced lever subjects, we could find 5 specialized Unix certifications for AIX:

23. IBM Certified Systems Expert – Enterprise Technical Support for AIX and Linux
24. IBM CSE – Virtualization Technical Support for AIX and Linux
25. IBM CSE – High Availability for AIX Technical Support and Administration
26. IBM Certified Operator – AIX Basic Operations
27. IBM Certified System Administrator – AIX


The BSD Certification Group Inc. has specialized certifications based on their BSD operating system. Their portfolio has 2 UNIX certifications:

28. BSD Associate (BSDA)
29. BSD Professional (BSDP)


Leave a Reply